Division 2016–2017 Highlights

The Columbia University Division of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, within the Department of Psychiatry, has grown into one of the largest faculty and training programs in the United States. Our faculty and staff consist of researchers, clinicians, and educators, whose disciplines include psychiatry, psychology, epidemiology, social work, nursing, and education. 

The leadership of former Director, Moira Rynn, MD, and current Director, Jeremy Veenstra-VanderWeele, MD, and Associate Director, Laura Mufson, PhD, has fostered dynamic clinical and translational research collaboration among research investigators, clinicians, and educators.

We are pleased to share the following 2016–2017 highlights:


Environmental Influences on Child Health Outcomes (ECHO) Program

Principal investigators Cristiane Duarte, PhD, MPH, Catherine Monk, PhD, and Jonathan Posner, MD, heading a multi-disciplinary team at the New York State Psychiatric Institute and Columbia University Medical Center, with Glorisa Canino, PhD, at the University of Puerto Rico, were awarded a seven-year, multi-million-dollar NIH-ECHO grant for their inter-generational study on the effect of childhood adversity on neurodevelopment.

Criminal Justice Investment Initiative (CJII)

NewYork-Presbyterian, in collaboration with the Division of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry and the Mailman School of Public Health at the Columbia University Medical Center, received a four-year, $10.3 million grant from the Manhattan District Attorney’s Office Criminal Justice Investment Initiative (CJII) to establish a Youth Opportunity Hub in Washington Heights. The hub will serve 250 youths aged 14 to 24 years old, who have been or are at risk for involvement with the juvenile or adult judicial system.

Additionally, NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital and the Division of Child and Adolescent Behavioral Health were awarded $1.3 million from the CJII in a three-year grant to contribute to a Family and Youth Development Program. The program will include universal prevention/teacher training in our School-Based Mental Health Program, community workshops, evidence-based trauma treatments, home-based interventions, and improved identification of learning disorders.

These grants extend our strong successes and commitments to strength-based and evidence-based community care.

Child Psychiatric Epidemiology Group Awards

Principal investigator Christina W. Hoven, DrPH, MPH, and faculty at the Child Psychiatric Epidemiology Group received three grants for the following research studies:

  1. RDoC Domains Underlying Emotional Health and Trajectories of Psychopathology in Families of WTC First Responders and Evacuees: A Genome-Wide GxE Study
  2. 9/11 Trauma and Toxicity in Childhood: Longitudinal Health and Behavioral Outcomes
  3. Sleep and Well-Being in High-Risk Youth

Youth Who Text a Crisis Line: Understanding Needs and Help-Seeking

Co-investigator Madelyn Gould, PhD, MPH (CUMC/NYSPI Division of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry), and principal investigator Anthony Pisani, PhD (University of Rochester), received a two-year grant from the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention (AFSP) to conduct a large-scale survey of randomly selected youth texting CRISIS TEXT LINE. Researchers will examine why youth text an anonymous crisis line, where else they turned for support, their recent help-seeking experiences, and adults they know who could support their recovery.

Awards & Honors

Erica M. Chin, PhD, was named Director of Psychology for NewYork–Presbyterian Hospital in May 2017. 

Warren Ng, MD, was appointed Medical Director for Outpatient Behavioral Health at NYP/CUMC in March 2017.

Jonathan Posner, MD, was appointed Suzanne Crosby Murphy Associate Professor of Psychiatry in March 2017.

Madelyn Gould, PhD, MPH, was elected the U.S. National Representative to the International Association of Suicide Prevention, March 2017–March 2022.

Oliver Stroeh, PhD, was appointed editor of JAACP Connect for a two-year term, January 2017–January 2019.

Rachel Marsh, PhD, was appointed Director of MRI Research at NYSPI in October 2016.